Chief Constable

Chief Constable Carl FoulkesChief Constable Foulkes

I am Carl Foulkes, Chief Constable for North Wales Police.

I started my policing career with British Transport Police in 1993, having previously served in the Royal Navy as an aircraft engineer and had seen active service in the first Gulf Conflict. After spending 10 years working for British Transport Police in London, serving in a variety of uniformed roles within local policing and specialist support, I was promoted to the rank of acting Chief Inspector.

In 2003, I joined West Midlands Police as a Detective Chief Inspector in Walsall a complete career change for me. I then moved into the Force Criminal Investigation Department prior to becoming Operations Superintendent in Birmingham. After a period as Detective Superintendent in Force Intelligence with responsibility for Community Cohesion, In 2008, I was promoted to Chief Superintendent and became Solihull Policing Commander.

In 2010 I assumed command of Force Intelligence, before moving on to head Force CID, the largest single department in the Force. As head of Force CID, I managed the force’s response to serious organised crime, homicide and acquisitive crime.

I attended the Strategic Command Course in 2013 before returning to West Midlands Police as Assistant Chief Constable (ACC) Local Policing and then ACC Crime. I was appointed Deputy Chief Constable for Merseyside Police on Monday 18 July 2016, and assumed the role on Monday 12 September 2016. During my time with Merseyside Police I held responsibilities for Professional Standards, corporate development, performance and change.

I was formally appointed Chief Constable for North Wales Police at the Police and Crime Panel on Monday 10th September 2018, and started in the role on Monday 5th November 2018. I have the overall responsibility for the direction and control of the Force and I am heavily involved in collaboration with forces in the North West and across Wales.

I have national portfolio responsibility for:-

  • Internet, Intelligence and Investigations
  • Gender
  • UK Protected Persons Service (UKPPS)

I am married with a teenage daughter and currently live between rural Staffordshire and Conwy. I enjoy outdoor pursuits including running, walking and cycling, being a keen triathlete.